Clockk Illustrations-02.png

Our Privacy Promise

Your privacy is tremendously important to us. We are setting ourselves the highest bar to protect you and your data. We’ve outlined the questions we get most about data and privacy below.

Data collection for Employers & Managers

Protecting you and your employees’ privacy

Clockk tracks our users’ activities to help them create accurate time sheets. Clockk will not be used as a method to spy on staff. We believe that good managers do not need to track their employees’ work. We do not and will never create tools that allow any person’s tracked data to be viewed by anyone else.

Why do we track?

We track to help our users remember their day. If we’ve done our job right, they have all the information they need to create accurate, detailed time sheets, with none of the frustration.

Why your employees’ privacy is so important to us

If your staff feels like Clockk is spying on them, they will fight against the tool. They might game it or find other ways to “run the Clockk”. If that happens, you won’t get the accuracy you need to run your business.

Instead, we’ve positioned Clockk as their tool. It’s their tool to help them make the most tedious and frustrating part of their job better. By ensuring their privacy, you’re more likely to get the data quality you need.

Why employees can opt out

Not everyone feels comfortable being tracked, and we respect that. If someone on your staff declines to be tracked, they can still use Clockk to enter time sheets just like they used to.

Your privacy when you cancel your Clockk account

If you cancel your Clockk account, all the data we’ve collected, as well as your time sheets will be immediately deleted from our production database.

We keep database backups for 7 days. After 7 days, your data will be permanently gone.

Data collection for Employees

Why do we track? We track to help you remember your day. If we’ve done our job right, you have all the information you need to create accurate, detailed time sheets, with none of the frustration.

If you don’t want to be tracked, you can opt out, and you can do your time sheets the old fashioned way.

We will never:

  • Shame or embarrass you with your data.
  • Share the specifics of anything we track with anyone — not your employer, manager, or colleague.
  • Sell your data, whether whole or in aggregate, to a third party.

Who has access For anything we track or store, only you have access. We will never tell your manager how long you spend on Facebook, YouTube, surfing the web, who you email, or anything else. What we track is only there to help you fill out your time sheets more accurately.

We will let your manager see aggregate and anonymized data for the purposes of improving billing efficiency. We promise that any time we create a new report, you will be informed of how your data will be used and where possible you will be given an option to opt out. You will always have the option to stop tracking.

What we track and store You control what we track. You can opt in to:

Files — We will track the files you edit, but only in the directories you give us access to. We store the file name and path, as well as the save time. We do not store the contents, size, or any derivative of the contents (such as a hash) of any file.

Web sites — Clockk tracks your Chrome and Safari browser history. Clockk will not track any activities in private or incognito windows.

Gmail — Clockk checks sent emails and stores the date, from, to, and subject. Clockk uses emails you receive to determine how long you spent writing an email. We do not store the bodies of any emails you send, nor do we store anything about any email you receive.

Google Calendar — Clockk stores the details of the event: name, location, date, time, and invitees. Clockk does not track event details, notes, alerts or URLs.

Trello — Clockk stores the titles and all your interactions (comments, moves, archives) with cards in all the boards you have access to. Clockk does not store the contents (description, checklists, labels, assignees, comments, etc.) of the card.

As a rule of thumb, Clockk tracks only the data that will a) help you remember what you did, or b) help Clockk automatically associate that work with the right project. If your data doesn’t meet one or both of those conditions, we will ignore it.

Data collection for Freelancers

Why do we track? We track to help you remember your day. If we’ve done our job right, you have all the information you need to create accurate, detailed time sheets, with none of the frustration.

What we track and store You control what we track. You can opt in to:

Files — We will track the files you edit, but only in the directories you give us access to. We store the file name and path, as well as the save time. We do not store the contents, size, or any derivative of the contents (such as a hash) of any file.

Web sites — Clockk tracks your Chrome and Safari browser history. Clockk will not track any activities in private or incognito windows.

Gmail — Clockk checks sent emails and stores the date, from, to, and subject. Clockk uses emails you receive to determine how long you spent writing an email. We do not store the bodies of any emails you send, nor do we store anything about any email you receive.

Google Calendar — Clockk stores the details of the event: name, location, date, time, and invitees. Clockk does not track event details, notes, alerts or URLs.

Trello — Clockk stores the titles and all your interactions (comments, moves, archives) with cards in all the boards you have access to. Clockk does not store the contents (description, checklists, labels, assignees, comments, etc.) of the card.

As a rule of thumb, Clockk tracks only the data that will a) help you remember what you did, or b) help Clockk automatically associate that work with the right project. If your data doesn’t meet one or both of those conditions, we will ignore it.

We will never:

Share anything we track with anyone Sell your data, whether whole or in aggregate, to a third party.

Your right to be forgotten

If you or your employer cease your employment, all the data we have tracked will be immediately deleted from our production database. Your employer will be required to change your name to a nickname to protect your identity. The time sheets you submitted will remain indefinitely, associated with your nickname.

If your employer cancels their Clockk account, all your data, including your time sheets will be immediately deleted from our production database.
We keep database backups for 7 days. After 7 days, any deleted data will be permanently purged.


How we handle old data

Any tracked data older than 2 calendar months is automatically deleted.For example, on June 13, you will have access to April, May, and June data, but everything prior to April 1 will have been deleted. That gives you two months to complete time sheets. Our assumption is that you probably don’t need it any more, and we definitely don’t need it.

We do keep certain tracked information available, such as project-by-project Slack activity, in aggregate. This is to support our “death by a thousand cuts” reports.

Each user can choose a more aggressive deletion schedule. Subscribers of our “pro” plan can choose to retain up to a full fiscal year of data.

How we protect your data

All communication with our servers, whether through the application or by any internal administrative means, is encrypted.

We store all of our data on Amazon Web Services in their RDS service. The database is encrypted and is only accessible to servers in our virtual private cloud (VPC). The database and all the servers have strong passwords. Only our system administration team has access to these servers, and only from whitelisted IP addresses. Developers never have access to production systems or data, unless they are collaborating with system administration on a major bug or performance issue.

When errors occur, our server team receives automated notices by email that may contain excerpts of tracked data, stripped of any personally identifiable information. These error notices are used to solve bugs. We cannot connect the data in these error notices to you.

We have no administrative tools that give us access to any user-specific data. None of our support personnel can see any of your data, unless you’re sharing your screen with us.

Your data is located in the geography of your choosing. For instance, if you’re an EU company, you can choose a database server located nearby, both for performance as well as to subject your data to the laws of your jurisdiction.

Have questions about data collection & privacy?

Name *
Name